Repairing Windows crashes If Bootrec is no longer able to be rebuilt or fixed, you may need to reset, refresh, and restore your machine. Some machines do not reset at all. What is the difference between Reset, Refresh, Restore? Reset will start as Windows.
Settings will be the same as Windows defaults. User data on partitions is not lost. But the whole C: \ part of Windows OS will be like new. Therefore, if you have data under C: \, you need to enter Cmd from Repair Mode and make a backup.
Refresh is like reinstalling Windows. It can also be said that a direct upgrade from a lower version of Windows to a higher version directly refreshes the day. However, like Windows Update directly, apps and settings are not as secure as they used to be in older Windows.
Data on partitions is not lost. When resetting and refreshing, choose an option to save the Apps, Settings, and Personal Files. You will be asked if you want to remove everything.
Restore means that if you created a recovery image while Windows was running before a computer crash, you can recover it. Recovery Image instructions have already been posted. It can recover only if the recovery image is created before the computer crashes.